Established in 2012 the Thamizh Perayam (Tamil Academy) of SRM Institute of Science and Technology has been considered as the Fifth Thamizh Sangam in literary circles. The Academy has been undertaking various efforts to encourage and develop prominent endeavors by eminent Tamil scholars for Tamil language and literature.
Since 2012, Thamizh Perayam has given away more than Rs 2 crores in awards as a way of honoring Creative writers and scholars across the world who have contributed to the development of Tamil Language, Literature and Culture with Cash awards. Continuing this 6-year tradition, the Chancellor of SRMIST Dr Paari Vendhar announced the winners’ list of the Thamizh PerayamVirudhugal-2018 mentioning that around Rs 15 lakhs of cash was sanctioned for the awards and the winners selected for 10 categories.
The honours fall under different categories like Tamil Creative Writers, Translators, Critics, Foreign Tamil Writers, Life time achievement award for Illustrious Tamil Scholars who have significantly contributed to the Tamil Language, Literature and culture.
A matter of significance is that winners of Thamizh Peraya Virudhugal have later been honoured with Sahithya Academy Award and through the selections based on the Central Institute of Classical Tamil the winners were even honoured with the prestigious President Award. These stand testimony for the quality and transparency rules of evaluations followed for the Tamil Peraya Virudhugal .
The announcement of the Thamizh Peraya Virudhigal Awards– 2018 was declared in the presence of the Pro Vice Chancellor of SRMIST and President of Thamizh Perayam Dr. R. Balasubramanian, Mr. M. Balasubramanian, Director of Finance and the Registrar of SRMIST Dr. N. Sethuraman.
Judge Committee
Honorable Justice Dr. P. Devadass
Dr. M. Rajendran
Dr. P.R. Subramanian
Kalaimamani Aandal Priyadharshini
Dr. R. Srinivasan

Leave a Reply