Marina Open AITA Ranking Wheelchiar Tennis Tournament 2018

Marina Open AITA Ranking Wheelchair Tennis Tournament held at SDAT Tennis Stadium, Nungambakkam lived upto to its potential. Shekar Veeraswamy of Karnataka and S. Balachandar of Tamil Nadu had battled for the title last year. And this time the finalists were no different though the result was. Shekar Veeraswamy served and returned brilliantly to take the first set rather comfortably at 6-2. In the second set the defending Champion Balachandar put up a brave fight. Balachandar used the drop to great effect and served 4 aces but against that he served 12 doubles faults, 4 of them in the last game which proved his undoing. Shekar in contrast was far more consistant due to which he held serve in the 7th game after 7 deuce and the 11th game after 3 deuces to make sure that he won the set 7-5 and the title.

The Women’s Finals between Prathima Rao and Shilpa K P was an exciting affair. Both the finalist was from Karnataka and they knew each other’s game well. In the 1st set surprisingly no player conceded the break point as both players held their serve with relative ease and the scores reached 6 games all and a tie breaker ensued. It was here that the drama started Prathima Rao went ahead 6-1 having 5 set points but Shilpa was a tough customer. She steadied her game, played grittily to fight back by winning the next 6 points to lead 7-6 and have a match point. The nervous Prathima then found her composure to reel out the next 3 points in a row and win the tie break and the set. In the 2nd set Shilpa had run out of steam as Prathima found new confidence to win the set 6-1in 20 minutes and win a well deserved title.

Prathima Rao scored a double when Prathima Rao along with Shilpa KP won the final Round Robin match to take the Doubles crown.
In the Men’s Doubles Finals Shekar Veeraswamy and S. Balachandar the top seeds proved to be too good for D. Mariappan and Sathasivam Kannupayan to win the Doubles finals in straight sets. Thus Shekar Veeraswamy and S. Balachandar won a grand doubles crown.

Mr. V. Baskaran, Indian Hockey Legend and Mr. Paneesh Rao,CHRO and Head of CSR, L&T Technology Services gave away the prizes.
Mr Paneesh Rao, CHRO and Head of CSR, L&T Technology Services said

It gives us immense pleasure to support this great initiative of Wheelchair Tennis in India and partner with the Indian Wheelchair Tennis Tour in achieving the vision of producing Indian players amongst the top 100 in the world in this category

The Men’s Singles Winner received prize money of Rs. 30,000 and 30 AITA Points and the Runner up received prize money of Rs.25,000 and 22 AITA Points.

The Women’s Singles Winner received prize money of 13,000 and15 points and the Runner up received prize money of Rs. 6,000 and 12 AITA points.

Skip to toolbar